Skip to content

My first novel, Memorial Day, is now available on Kindle!

May 14, 2012

Today marks the end of months of hard, obsessive work and the beginning of what I hope to be a new direction for me as my first novel – Memorial Day – goes up for sale on Amazon Kindle! Writing this has been one of the most demanding yet rewarding experiences of my life and I’m thrilled that I’m finally able to release it. Below are the links where it is available for purchase:

UK – http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0082ZQFTK

US – http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0082ZQFTK

Also – I’ll be releasing Memorial Day on paperback via Amazon’s amazing self-publishing service, CreateSpace! I’m currently waiting for my proof copy to arrive so in the next couple weeks I’ll have more details on a physical release date for the book.

Here is the full description from the Amazon site:

The Central Texas military community has always known the painful sacrifice of losing loved ones at war, but America remembers the area for its harrowing tragedies: the 1991 Luby’s Cafeteria massacre in Killeen, the failed ATF Waco siege in 1993, and the 2009 mass shooting on the Fort Hood military base. At the end of another school year and the beginning of another long Texas summer, three individuals find their fates entwined as each desperately tries to break the patterns of their pasts.

Young high school teacher Tom Woodbine meets a recent divorcée named Andy in a chance online encounter that will forever change him. Nearby, one of Tom’s former students, Susan Ortega, finds herself held captive by a life of burden and devastating loss. A tale interwoven with dreams, déja vu, and reminiscence, Memorial Day follows a week in the lives of Tom, Andy, and Susan as they freely surrender to the possibilities of the present.

This project started the morning of 30 October 2011. At around 4 AM I awoke from a shockingly vivid dream and began writing every detail I could remember. By the time the sun rose I had scribbled a few unintelligible pages of dialogue and scene descriptions that I couldn’t help but obsess over for the rest of the day. The next morning, I fleshed out my chicken-scratch notes and began writing this novel in full.

I was very keen to have this released as soon as possible because the story itself begins on 24 May – exactly ten days from now! – and is written in a quasi-realtime pace spanning a week in length.This is all very exciting for me so apologies if I’m a bit giddy for the next few days. I’ll do my best to be restrained in posting and promoting this book, but I honestly can’t make any guarantees. Thanks for reading!

Bryan

WARNING: Memorial Day is written in the American English idiom and grammatical style!

Memorial Day cover

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Debra Syfert permalink

    Hello Bryan! KUDOS on your first book! This has been shared with me by someone we both love, Apryle Pilkey!

    I happened to marry a military man in Killeen in 2000 and lived in Harker Heights for nearly a year before moving on to Florida a few months following his retirement. What an adventure living near Fort Hood with a sea of soldiers in every day passing. I can’t wait to read your book!

    P.S. My birthday is May 24th!!

    Sincerely,
    Debra Syfert

  2. Thanks Debra! I’ve just received my first non-proof paperback of the book and am a bit giddy about the whole experience again. Strange how having something in-hand makes such a difference.

Leave a Reply

